traces: a poem

November 19, 2012 § Leave a comment

Here’s a poem I wrote the other day. Thought some of you might appreciate it.

traces

Pencil, pen, sometimes in combination

Scrawled along the margin

Underline, asterisk; surely important

At least for now

Books, paper, clothes, on the floor

Like leaves in the fall

pressure

I have two weeks

I keep telling myself

I have four weeks

My voice echoes

I have one life

ceremony

Sirens again

The dogs howl

Somehow sacramental

Charged through with ether

cold

Sickness, temperature

Where I teach and where I live

Too often, in my heart

beauty

In the routine, the mess

This world shimmers

motion

This fluidity dancing around me

It ends and begins; the wine and the bread; the new and the old, bursting forth.  

 

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading traces: a poem at Losing Sight of Land.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 294 other followers

